Books by J.C.

Don’t forget to join J.C. Hartcarver’s Elite to hear about new book releases and snag special deals on books and merch. Just add your email below!

Success! You're on the list.

Below, you will find every book by J.C. Hartcarver up to date. All books are available at most major retailers!

The Sufferborn Series:

Sufferborn (book 1): The beginning of a sprawling fantasy series in which Kalea, a young novice in a convent, falls in love with Dorhen, a mysterious elf from the forest. When vicious sorcerers raid the convent, Dorhen breaks in to help and disappears in the confusion. Heartbroken and angry, Kalea sets out to rescue the love of her life and her kidnapped novice sisters. But Dorhen’s dark past has caught up with him, and his future is bleak.

Note: As of 1/23/2021, Sufferborn’s book cover changed to the one you see here. Same book, new look!

Unwilling Deity (book 2): The sequel to J.C. Hartcarver’s dark, epic fantasy debut, Sufferborn, in which the lovesick Kalea continues searching for Dorhen, her elven sweetheart who vanished tragically, when she is caught up in a rising Darklandic deity called Wikshen. She fights her way across a strange, untamed land, from a poisoned forest to the center of the Wikshonite cult, where she risks losing her purpose, her sanity, and even her faith. (Note: to make up for the increased price of printed versions, Unwilling Deity features 2 additional illustrations).

Flesh Embodied dark fantasy book cover

Flesh Embodied (book 3): Kalea has finally found Dorhen in a maniacal cult that worships Wikshen as a living deity. But their rocky relationship must wait as they resume her quest to save her kidnapped novice sisters and Gaije’s little sister Mhina. Side by side, they take on the sorcerers of Ilbith, a task which makes Dorhen begin to think differently about his own destiny.

About my books:

I have very special plans for all of my books. For one, all of my stories will take place within the world of Kaihals. I’ve spent such a long time developing this fantasy world that it makes the most sense to get some use out of it!

Secondly, I’m proud to boast that these books will always feature my own art on the cover. I don’t photoshop stock pictures together, I don’t let other people do it for me, I put my blood, sweat, and tears into the books’ physical presentation. I paint my covers in oil.

I illustrate my books. Over the years as I’ve studied the craft, I’m pretty sure I’ve heard about how novels don’t need pictures. Those were the words of older generations though. I can’t speak for anyone else, of course, but I for one LOVE pictures. Didn’t Alice say before she went down the rabbit hole, “What is the use of a book without pictures or conversations?” I’ve never been offended by seeing any kind of little image in a book, novel or otherwise. My friends from my own generation tend not to disagree with me either–they like pictures! And I like making pictures. So for the sheer love of making and looking at pictures, I’ll be including complimentary images in my books. This will be especially true for the Sufferborn series (the idea is pending for future books). These images are carved in linoleum with dense black and white shapes in my own unique style, and printed by hand at the expense of my aching shoulder! The illustrations will be located at the back of each book to be anticipated after reading the story, as well as not to distract from your reading experience. And I’ll stress this again: I write for adults! The illustrations may not be suitable for all ages; they may contain nudity or sexual situations. Each book will be released in four formats: ebook, paperback, hardback, and presentation edition. The higher the book tier you buy, ebook being the least and presentation being the greatest, the more illustrations you’ll see in your book. Ebooks will have three illustrations and presentation edition will have eight!